Skip to content

Why is God silent?

June 3, 2009

I didn’t want to quote someone else two days in a row, but this post about when God seems silent from Mark Batterson was WAY TOO GOOD not to pass onto you…

“He is the Holy Spirit, who leads into all truth.” John 14:17

I think most of us wish the Holy Spirit led us into all comfort. We might even settle for partial truth. But all truth? Most of us would rather surround ourselves with people who will simply validate what we falsely believe about ourselves. That isn’t the Holy Spirit. Like a good counselor, He’ll take you places you don’t want to go so you can get where He wants you to goHe’ll reveal things you don’t want to know so you can become who He wants you to be. 

I think many of us get frustrated at times because it seems like God is silent. Here’s a thought: if you cannot hear the voice of God maybe it’s because you aren’t willing to hear everything He has to say? 

You can’t tune out His convicting voice and still hear His guiding voice or wise voice or comforting voice. You cannot listen to half of what the Holy Spirit has to say. It’s a package deal. If you tune out His convicting voice you won’t hear anything He has to say.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Susan Howerton permalink
    June 4, 2009 5:44 am

    Right between the eyes, Josh! I have realized that I have a rebellious streak in me that is quite strong. God graciously continues to show me this as it creeps through my life like crab grass.

    His “convicting voice” tells me, once again, that the particular sin, which seems to be “not so big” to me, that I thought I was struggling with, is actually not what continues to weigh me down. What I’m needing to be willing to lay down (and throw off)… the sin I continue feed (but is never satisfied), is my selfish rebellious nature… wanting what I want anyway, despite what God tells me is best for me… much like a spoiled child.
    What seemed “not so big” to me before now seems HUGE and all-encompassing when not surrendered to Him.

    Being willing to listen to His “convicting voice” means to be willing to obey it, not just hear it and, quite honestly, I’m finding that obedience part very hard right now. My surrender MUST BE COMPLETE, not partial, not selective. Thanks for passing this blog on, Josh. Much more to pray about.

Leave a Reply

