Skip to content

thank you.

June 4, 2009

This is why one of the most comforting things in my life is the amount of emails and text messages I get from Bridgers to tell me that they’re praying for me.  A good friend forwarded me this article yesterday to tell me that they’re praying for me also.  Forgive me if this seems overly self-focused… as if wah-wah our lives as pastors are hard (cue soft violin music). I know everyone’s job is hard. I just ask that when you think of me  you pray for me…

“Peter Drucker, the late leadership guru, said that the four hardest jobs in America (and not necessarily in order, he added) are: president of the United States, a university chancellor, a hospital CEO, and a church pastor.

Jimmy Draper, former president of the Lifeway Research Group, notes that for every 20 people who go into the pastorate only one retires from the ministry. Can you name any other profession where there is a 95 percent drop-off rate? Most don’t make it to retirement in the ministry because they are either fired, have a moral failure or just burned out and give up.

Pastors have the second-highest divorce rate of any profession. 48% of them think their job is detrimental to their family’s well-being. Another 46% will experience a burnout or a depression that will make them leave the ministry. 70 % say their self-esteem is lower now than when they started their position.”

95% drop-off rate, 2nd highest divorce rate, 46% that experience burnout or depression that causing them to leave ministry – Thank you so much for your prayer.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 5, 2009 7:34 am

    Many pastors find themselves with low self-esteem and wondering why God called them to ministry because, when they accepted God’s prompting into ministry, they thought they would be speaking of Jesus to people, teaching His Words to church members who would be on the edge of their seats anticipating a word from God, and to call out followers of Jesus to a radical lifestyle, and watching the Christians they were leading share and show His love to their circles of influence. Instead, those people were more focused on the church starting new programs or day care centers for their kids or choirs they could sing in, etc… The pastor was asked to be program director, CEO, and counselor rather than accomplishing the biblical directives of a pastor. Lucky for you… The Bridge doesn’t seem to be made up of that kind of people. I thank God that Julie and I are at The Bridge. As I travel I meet with pastors consistently who are burned out, broken, and spiritually destitute. At some point they caved in to the “make me happy” congregations they served only to find out, creating and overseeing more programs is a sure fire way to realize at some point that they are not creating radical Christians, only keeping cultural Christians happy. And a church full of cultural Christians just won’t make much difference in the community and the world. By the way… I’ve never seen a group of cultural Christians getting what they want from their pastor truly “happy.”

  2. tasha permalink
    June 5, 2009 11:55 am

    I pray for you and Jana every week; I’ll give it a better effort and make it daily. We love you both!

Leave a Reply

