Skip to content

Lessons learned at youth camp.

June 16, 2009

I spent last week suffering for the name of Christ in Panama City, FL preaching a youth camp for the church I went to in college.  Yes, sarcasm intended.  It was an AWESOME week, as you can see…

Lessons learned during the week (these may come out very random)…

  • When we’re doing ministry, God is the one ministering to us.  We always get more than we give.
  • Hungry Howie’s Pizza is vastly underrated.
  • The simple gospel of Jesus’ death at the cross on our behalf is more powerful than any combination of humor, wisdom, or speaking ability.
  • Teenagers are hurting.  At least 10 students at this camp had parents currently going through divorce or some life-altering marital problem.
  • The Burger King mascot is stinkin’ creepy.
  • You’re never too old for student ministry.  The most beloved youth worker there (Big D) was in his 60’s.
  • Never underestimate the entertainment value of thumb-wrestling. 
  • If I were to lose everything – my house, my car, my financial stability, my wife, my reputation, my life – and gain God’s Kingdom, I would’ve made out on the good end of the deal.

PLEASE humor me with this for fun today.  What is your favorite memory from summer camp?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Heather Perkins permalink
    June 16, 2009 10:18 pm

    Hey Josh, remember..
    This is not my favorite memory but I loved the “adult hide and go seek” because the first time you hid underneath a shed with a one foot clearance and the next year you hid in a garbage can, that was classic!! and James Tealy hid in a boat upside down and Javier being short just walked under there, looked up and found him. And Jana hid in the HOT woods in camo. Remember you were in the garbage can and michael mann was like “ew who would hide in a garbage can”
    -The Leprechaun.
    -The LARKS & Farks.
    -The demon in the woods.
    – Tu-Tall with his gator. He was awesome

  2. Eva Howard permalink
    June 17, 2009 9:32 am

    While being a counselor at a youth camp in Panama City, we had a event each night that was called “TARP TIME”. They would cover the entire worship area in tarp for a reason, it always got messy. One particular night they had a battle between the guys and girls to see which team could recover a Baby Ruth candy bar which was floating in a five gallon bucket of apple juice without putting their hands into the bucket.

    Visualize this folks, a five gallon white bucket full of apple juice which is very close to the color of urine and a large chocolate Baby Ruth candy bar. Yes people I am watching these teenagers getting down on their knees one by one, hugging the five gallon white bucket which is the total resemblance of a toilet and dunking their heads down into the urine colored apple juice attempting to grab the chocolate Baby Ruth candy bar with their mouths as though they were bobbing for apples. This excitement went on forever without any success from either team of about 150 students.

    After they had called the game to a end, I immediately spoke up that apparently they needed a professional to show them the proper technic for retrieving the candy bar from the apple juice without placing your hands in the bucket. Of course there was a professional among us, ME! I approached the five gallon white bucket full of apple juice and got down on my knees as every other player had as well. I wrapped my arms around the bucket with the biggest bear hug i could muster and proceeded to lift the bucket up to my face and watched the apple juice move quickly toward me. I closed my mouth and eyes while the rush of apple juice poured over me and then waited for the lonesome chocolate Baby Ruth candy bar to roll down to hit my lips. I jumped to my feet with my hands raised in the air like Rocky Balboa at the top of the steps in Philadelphia with the prized candy bar clenched in my teeth. I am the CHAMPION!!!!!!!!!

    Thank you very much. I will be over here if you need me.

    EVA

  3. kelly perkins permalink
    June 17, 2009 10:01 am

    let see….my favorite memory was standing by the shack at Cedarmore and calling the log in the lake a lark …yes we were pretty dumb people but that was a good memory oh and me getting saved..ill always remember that i am the last person you got to hear about from MW getting saved at camp….and Of course our group circles we had every day and allison s. standing up in dinner yelling anyone see the Leprechaun say yea and we all screamed and people looked at us like we were stupid….those are by far the best days of my life

  4. Sue permalink
    June 17, 2009 12:27 pm

    Chocolate milkshakes from Mahaffey. (Western PA)
    Throwing water out of our 3rd floor dorm window and trying not to get caught.
    The dorm superintendent at family camp who reminded us of Ike from The Waltons.
    Not being allowed to have electrical appliances in the dorms but getting away with using curling irons.
    Trips to Curwensville Dam to swim.
    Swimming in the west branch of the Susquehana River.
    Not being able to wear shorts at family camp and having to sneak out of the camp to go across the road to the river to swim.
    The times we were finally allowed to drive to/from camp on our own….no parents!

  5. Frosty permalink
    June 18, 2009 10:08 am

    Hey It´s not the best memory but the funniest and also creepiest one. When Charlie told the ether story at Johnathan Creek and also all the shanigans Matt Suddath pulled off.

  6. shelley permalink
    June 18, 2009 10:52 am

    way too many great memories — oh, i so want my kids to have church camp memories & friendships!

    loved being a camper and then a counselor-in-training, and finally a counselor, but my most prominent memory was deciding to be baptized on my own @12 in the lake @ camp.

    great, great part of growing up –

Leave a Reply

