Skip to content

I am easily ______.

June 22, 2009

This conversation between three VERY different but VERY godly guys about leading worship in the church fascinated me this weekend…

SIDE NOTE: As a speaker/preacher I’m always a little jealous of worship leaders because they’re always cooler than me.  I need to get over that… everyone is cooler than me!

One phrase spoken by Harold Best (guy in the middle) especially has me thinking…

“A mature Christian is easily edified.”

For anyone that doesn’t speak Christianeze, “edified” means “spiritually instructed”.  I spent the rest of my weekend trying to honestly finish the sentence, “I am easily _______.”  If I’m honest I think most of the time I’m…

  • easily angered
  • easily annoyed
  • easily impatient
  • easily offended
  • easily arrogant
  • easily distracted

I’m SO far off but I really want the people that know me the best to be able to say, “Man, it’s hard to offend Josh but it’s so easy to edify him.”

The funny thing is that in my experience the people that need the most correction are the least willing to receive it and the people that need the least correction are the most willing to receive it.  Why is that!?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 22, 2009 10:42 pm

    Well, the ones that are most willing to receive it may have been seeking correction for a while now and are now reaping the fruit of it. They treasure discipline because they know that “the LORD reproves him whom he loves, as a father the son in whom he delights.” I don’t think anyone can sit down and read Proverbs and come away with the idea that “Hey, I’ve got this Jesus thing figured out. I’m good on my own thankyouverymuch.” because it goes on and on about how, if we seek correction, we won’t “lead othes astray” or be a “fool”, or find “poverty or shame”, or “die”, or you know, all the fun stuff that comes with doing things on our own. This is one of the things that makes community beautiful, and it may be messy because we’re sinful, prideful people, but the cost is worth the prize!

  2. Susan Howerton permalink
    June 23, 2009 3:30 pm

    WOW… great stuff, Andrea, and so very true. I think we all hunger for relationships so close that we can count on these friends to tell us the harsh truth and confront us when needed. You KNOW they love you if they are willing to do something as difficult as that. This is so reminiscent of “interventions” and getting all up in another person’s life. We often shy away from this because we feel like it’s their business and we shouldn’t interfere but if we love someone we will. I’ve been part of several interventions for those I love and am in the middle of another and if there is one thing I’ve learned it’s that I’m not sticking my head in the sand any longer just because it’s difficult to confront and I’m afraid I won’t know what to do or say or that they will get mad. We are talking “life or death” in a physical, emotional, spiritual, or quality of life sense and all are worth stepping on out of our comfort zone for. So, I know it’s exhausting and requires lots of time in prayer, conversations, etc., and feels awkward and risky but as Andrea said… the cost is worth the prize. We should all take the risk to humbly edify and be edified.

Leave a Reply

