Skip to content

Sunday afternoon thoughts…

June 28, 2009

For the last two weeks, our worship gatherings have been… well, incredible. One person I talked to afterwards today said, “That was almost like a party.” And it seriously was. So many evidences of God’s grace in our midst right now. Here are some thoughts from today…

  • Our passage was 1 John 3:11-18 about sacrificially loving God’s family.  If we take it seriously, we may have to rearrange our entire lives… but it would be worth it.
  • I know I believe The Bible, but does my heart REALLY believe Jesus’ statement that “It is better to give than to receive”?
  • I’m completely geeked, amped, pumped, excited (whatever word you want to use) about our Vintage Church kickoff.  To keep non-Bridgers in the loop, we’re canceling our worship gathering at Chapman’s Retreat and meeting in House Churches across Spring Hill on July 12th to remind ourselves what “church” is really about.  If it was good enough for the first 300 years of church history, it’s good enough for us.  Oh, and the church-wide picnic at Evans Park afterwards won’t be too shabby either.  Here’s the video teaser from this morning…
  • If it ever becomes true that when people hear “The Bridge”, they think “those are the people that adopt orphans” or “those are the people that feed the hungry” then Jesus will be so famous we’ll NEVER have enough seats for people to sit in to hear the gospel no matter what building we’re in.
  • Check out how far we’ve come on the building.  Bottom floor: done!

DSC_0055

  • We never want it to be about our band… but they absolutely rock.  I’ve had that “Hosanna” song stuck in my head for three hours.
  • Our Kids’ Ministry rocks and our Kids’ Minister (who may or may not be my wife 😉 ) is hot.  It will be sad when we can’t start our worship gatherings with the kids in there with us anymore.
  • Team USA just blew a 2-0 lead to Brazil.  If I hadn’t had an incredible morning, this would really bother me right now.
  • I LOVE my church!
7 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennifer Williams permalink
    June 28, 2009 8:01 pm

    We have another praise to share from today. Elijah prayed for Jesus to come into his heart during class this morning. He ran to me after class and shared the great news. He was so excited. Hallelujah!

  2. josh permalink
    June 28, 2009 9:16 pm

    No way!?!??! We’re (the Kids’ Minister and I) just finding out and are THRILLED!

    Praise God for his unending grace…

  3. Jana Howerton permalink
    June 28, 2009 9:42 pm

    Jennifer,
    I am so excited!!!!!! I wish someone would have told me this morning. We’re praising God along with you all! That’s awesome!

  4. Susan Howerton permalink
    June 28, 2009 9:56 pm

    WOW! I’m so very excited for Elijah! I know the angels are singing!! Praise God His salvation is for ALL, no matter the age.

  5. Scott Shoopman permalink
    June 28, 2009 10:08 pm

    The Spirit continues to move in Spring Hill!!!

  6. Serena permalink
    June 29, 2009 7:50 am

    That’s wonderful! He didn’t say anything to Ben or I but Ben had said to tell your parents, Josh and/or Jana or Ben or I. We’re so happy that he made that decision! The Bridge kids are just awesome!

  7. Eva Howard permalink
    June 29, 2009 11:21 am

    Elijah, welcome to the family. Way to go GOD!!!!!!!!

    I just love it when evidence of His grace, mercy, never-ending peace, and everlasting love fills us up, overflows and begins to drip on everyone around us. Can I get a AMEN!!!

    I’m through preaching now and going to take up the offering.

Leave a Reply

