Skip to content

“Jesus is my friend”

July 27, 2009

A buddy of mine sent this to me I think just to get under my skin (you know who you are!).  What you are about to see is a REAL song from a REAL band called “Sonseed” in 1982.  I repeat, this is not a parody.

By far my favorite lyrics come at the 1:30 mark – “He is like a Mountie – he always gets his man.  And he’ll zap you anyway he can.  ZAP!”  That’s “mountie” as in Canadian mountie…

canada-mountie

What grieves me about things like this and the ever-popular “Jesus is my Homeboy” t-shirt is how low, weak, and trite a view of Jesus they promote.  In Scripture when there was a storm that was about to KILL the disciples, they were more afraid of the power of Jesus than they were of the storm.  Or in Revelation 1:12-18 the mere sight of the risen Christ causes the apostle John to fall down and think he’s going to die.

My great fear is that we’ll let a generation take shape for whom Jesus isn’t a holy God to fall in front of and worship but a cool buddy to pal around with.  This fake Jesus doesn’t call us to surrender our lives.  He’s just an accessory to make it better.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Heather Perkins permalink
    July 27, 2009 8:23 pm

    So are you saying this video grieves you like those T-Shirts that say “Jesus is my homeboy?” And the fact they promote this, instead of lifting up how powerful He is, and that He is savior, but also has wrath.
    Things like that make people blind to the fact God has wrath because God is so holy and perfect He has to be separate from sin but people think they are accepted anyways and will live how they want and then die and go to heaven. Because a lot ask “Well if God accepts me for who I am, then why do I have to change?” And like it was said, God is so holy, spotless of sin, and the only way for God to make himself of people, He has to change their hearts completely. He takes us for who we are from the start, but through our love relationship with Him, our hearts and desires are changed completely.
    So the things where people say Jesus is my friend, or homeboy, kind of ignore that Jesus is to be more than a friend in our eyes.

  2. Jeff Lash permalink
    July 28, 2009 8:06 am

    I discovered this one a while back. I really couldn’t believe it was real. Classic…just classic.

  3. Brett McDonald permalink
    July 28, 2009 8:06 am

    crowder’s cover of it is even better…

  4. July 28, 2009 10:26 am

    Maybe believers have lost their passion for God’s holiness due to the fact they don’t want to consider their own. A George Barna survey gave us the straight up, only 35% of adults, about 1/3 believe God expects them to be holy.

  5. cks permalink
    July 28, 2009 10:56 am

    My favorite lyric is at 2:12 – “He loves me when I waste my time by writing silly songs.”

  6. Andrea permalink
    July 28, 2009 11:20 am

    I especially love the pink backdrop. Right on.

    Can you believe how vastly different the world’s view of Jesus is from our own? It seems like over the last 10-15 years, the Christian Jesus and the Secular Jesus paint dramatically different pictures! The Jesus we know is totally counter cultural to the Jesus of the religious and politically correct. It seems like their Jesus isn’t even the one from the Bible but an imaginary character, like the Tooth Fairy or Santa Claus.
    I think the question that comes to mind for me is, how does someone get to the point where they begin to question a inset learned part of their culture (like cartoon Jesus) in order to become open to learning about the real Jesus.

  7. josh permalink
    July 28, 2009 3:40 pm

    @Andrea – I think the only way is for them to see Christians that lay down their lives in worship and reverence to him. Great question.

  8. Susan Howerton permalink
    July 28, 2009 5:04 pm

    I would bet that people in countries where Christians are martyred daily see a more realistic Jesus through the willingness of believers to continue to leave the comfort of America to bring the gospel to them KNOWING they must be willing to leave it all behind, and lay it all down, risking their very lives. We are so sheltered in America from the reality of what it truly costs so many believers around the world to take the gospel to all nations. Seeing that kind of love with such urgency, tenacity, and willing sacrifice of His followers is to see the real Jesus, worthy of our praise, and our everything.

  9. Susan Howerton permalink
    July 28, 2009 5:08 pm

    Hey, is that Lance singing backup? He looked just like that in 1982!

  10. Lynetta permalink
    July 28, 2009 8:50 pm

    Ugh! I couldn’t watch this whole clip. I shut it off at the 44 second mark.

  11. Gina permalink
    July 29, 2009 12:55 pm

    I soooooo wish I had not clicked on this video. I now have this song stuck in my head. Jesus is a friend of mine, Jesus is a friend of mine, Jesus is a friend of mine………

Leave a Reply

