Skip to content

Defend your position: cats or dogs?

August 4, 2009

Yesterday’s blog post was actually important so if you’re only going to read one of them, choose it.

BUT… just when I thought they were going extinct, I have met three “cat people” in the last week.  I thought for sure that humans had advanced to an intelligence level where the cat vs. dog debate was over, but I was apparently wrong.

I hear from cat people that cats are smarter, cleaner, and less maintenance than dogs and I hear from dog people (namely, me) that cats warrant no affection whatsoever and are emotionally equivalent to vermin or weasels in the normal human psyche. Kidding… kind of 🙂

Let’s end this today.  Cats or Dogs?  Why?

33 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2009 9:43 pm

    patrick & i are both dog people at heart, but we have a cat too (a stray that showed up one day and nuzzeled my leg when i was particularly depressed–how could i not bring it inside?) patrick maintains that he hates cats and that men who like cats are not to be trusted, but he will occasionally pet it on the head. dogs show unconditional love and dependence–nothing warms our hearts as much as seeing butchy’s body wiggle with joy when we come home from work! kitty is self-sufficient, but he lets me know that he likes to be in my presence by following me wherever i go and laying just out of arms reach (he usually runs the other way when patrick enters the room though). they both have their merits–cats are lower-maintenance and great if you have to travel or work a lot. dogs need more attention and care, but make up for it w/cuddles!

  2. August 5, 2009 7:11 am

    Dogs for sure. Dogs have brains and personalities and are not uppity like cats. Cats are pharisees, dogs are servants.

    But if you want the real scoop in this topic… Ask Lance Howerton?!

  3. August 5, 2009 7:15 am

    Feed a dog it thinks your a god
    Feed a cat it thinks it’s a god

    Need I say more?

    If you are a cat lover I have two at my house you can have. How we got them is a great story. My version is the correct version.

  4. Dave Hall permalink
    August 5, 2009 7:56 am

    Cat’s are great…they are so great we have 5 new kittens I would love to get rid of, I mean part with.

  5. Seth permalink
    August 5, 2009 8:07 am

    Wow, you all are funny. I really think it depends on the pet, I’ve met cats with personalities that are extremely loving (and at the same time self sufficient–so don’t require your attention every minute you are around). And I’ve met dogs that are just plain evil. These both go against what everyone seems to think of stereotypically. I think it’s based quite a bit on the owner (I have no pets, and keep it that way because they all cost money, which I am trying to save right now).
    I would consider myself more of a cat person, but have owned about 13 dogs at one point in time (the most number of cats at once was only 3).

  6. Joshua Hoots permalink
    August 5, 2009 9:42 am

    “I hear from cat people that cats are smarter, cleaner, and less maintenance than dogs”

    Yes.

  7. Erin Krans permalink
    August 5, 2009 9:42 am

    I am most certainly a cat person, because they really are so much less maintenance; I do not, however, think they are smarter than dogs.

    We can go out of town for a week, leaving the cat behind with a huge bowl of food and water, and she’s just fine. You could never do that with a dog.

  8. Jennifer Lyles Williams permalink
    August 5, 2009 9:43 am

    Cats rule and dogs drool!

  9. Joshua Hoots permalink
    August 5, 2009 9:43 am

    Either way, let me just throw this in here – when you want to go get a pet, please consider adopting one of the pets in an animal shelther without homes – and don’t pass up the adult cats or dogs and go straight for the puppies or kittens – give them a chance. I just adopted an adult cat from an animal shelter this past Saturday afternoon that was narrowly rescued and was getting ready to be put down before taken to the shelter where I found her. One thing advantageous about adult pets is that they are likely already house trained and you can skip the messes on the carpet phase…plus you save a life.

  10. Heather Michelle Perkins permalink
    August 5, 2009 9:43 am

    My dog gives hugs, high fives, and she knows the simple paw trick. We can leave her home alone for 2 days and she holds it b/c shes a tough one. The people who had her before us had her in the police dog training, so she’s very obedient. I hate cats, they smell, and they aren’t much fun.

  11. Melanie Cooke permalink
    August 5, 2009 9:44 am

    Cats all the way Josh! Not just the Kentucky Wildcats either! Cats are cleaner, less needier, smarter, fuzzy, fun to watch, just easier all the way around! Cats are from God!

  12. Megan Slater permalink
    August 5, 2009 9:44 am

    i vote for turtles 🙂

  13. Jennifer Lyles Williams permalink
    August 5, 2009 9:45 am

    For the record, we love animals. We have had both cats and dogs, inside and out. Although we only have cats now, cats are by far easier and less time consuming. After having only cats, it is hard for us to go back to a dog again simply because of the amount of commitment it requires to have a dog (and Jimi hates the thought of cleaning up the yard again).

  14. Shi permalink
    August 5, 2009 10:39 am

    Definitely dogs!!! We would NEVER have a cat. They are stuck up, I’m allergic to them and Alan is terrified of them! LOL…..

    • Danae permalink
      August 5, 2009 1:47 pm

      Woooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooow!!! My dad just hates them, and is allergic, but mostly hates them. But I guess people can prove you like dogs cuz you have Max.

  15. tasha permalink
    August 5, 2009 10:44 am

    So you need that assurance do you? You prefer an emotionally shallow animal? You see (Josh), when you yell at a dog, his tail will go between his legs and cover his genitals, his ears will go down. A dog is very easy to break, but cats make you work for their affection, they don’t sell out the way dogs do.”

    Yes, it’s a dreaded movie quote, but it’s such a good one.

  16. josh permalink
    August 5, 2009 10:52 am

    @tasha nice Meet the Parents reference. I know you LOVE dogs 😉

  17. Scott Shoopman permalink
    August 5, 2009 11:06 am

    Depends on the needs of the owner. Dogs are needy and as such, the owner must want to provide for the pet. Cats are somewhat self-sufficient. They can go ferrell (sp?) very quickly and if not fed can hunt for their dinner. The largest problem with cats – they cannot be trained to go “potty” outside.

    • Lynetta permalink
      August 5, 2009 11:49 am

      Aside from earning me some bucks in the upcoming Chicken Soup: Lessons I learned from My Cat book (releases September 22), I’ve had many enjoyable moments with my cat. That’s not to say I don’t love dogs as well, but we don’t have one right now because of the time and energy required.
      @Scott Shoopman–said cat can and would go outside if we’d open the door for him. (A near fatal incident caused us to make him an indoor only cat a year ago, but his first five years of life he required no litter box.)
      @ Josh- A profound spiritual question: what happened to grace? Are cats less deserving than dogs?

      • Lynetta permalink
        August 5, 2009 4:15 pm

        Oh, and I forgot to mention…my cat also gives high fives. (Anything for a treat…lol)

  18. josh permalink
    August 5, 2009 11:58 am

    @Lynetta Nice. You win and I repent!

  19. Susan Howerton permalink
    August 5, 2009 12:34 pm

    Ohhhhhh Lance…. your age keeps giving you those memory problems. About that story… MY version is the right one! And no, we are not giving away our OLD problematic cats until Jordan takes them with him when he one day gets an apartment, unless they are already dead. Although there may be an old problematic husband being offered soon. HA! And Lance may act like he hates cats but he does pet them and talk to them occasionally. I would definitely not agree that they are lower maintenance, as they get older anyway. And they are very loving… if you are loving to them. But I am definitely a DOG person now.

  20. Lora permalink
    August 5, 2009 12:59 pm

    My vote is for a cactus! 🙂

  21. Obi-Wan Kenobi permalink
    August 5, 2009 1:04 pm

    That’s no dog. It’s a space station.

    + LOLCats > LOLDogs
    LOLCats FTW

  22. Danae permalink
    August 5, 2009 1:46 pm

    I prefer dogs because they do so much to please their owners. They will protect their owners, they can warn them if something bad will happen because they have that sense, they’re service, search and rescue, police, and fire dogs, and much more. I have a dog and she’s awesome. She’s the best dog ever. She may be old and a big pain in the rear, but she’s a very loyal and sweet dog. Usually, cats like to scratch. Dogs, they don’t have that temptation. They may bite, but if they’re trained well, they won’t bite. There are dogs that are very very gentle if they’re trained that way. Plus, dogs can be more obedient than cats, easier to train, and they actually show enough emotion by wagging their tail. That’s the easiest way to tell a dog is happy. Cats… sometimes they’ll purr, sometimes they won’t. Not everyone can tell. Plus, cats can get moody and can change their mind on someone really fast. Dogs can just stick to something for a while. Although dogs can actually be a pain from barking, begging for food, whining when apparently they want attention, and they’re prone to using your floors or carpets as a bathroom, well, that’s mostly the owner’s fault because they haven’t trained the animal well. But… at least you won’t find hairballs everywhere! I’ll leave it at that.

  23. Jason permalink
    August 5, 2009 1:54 pm

    Dogs. Cats have ruined the good name of sandboxes everywhere!

  24. shelley permalink
    August 5, 2009 2:50 pm

    ….sandboxes….and our garden boxes…..eeewwwww…..

    I’ve not ever heard that cats are cleaner — how can they be cleaner when they walk thru their litter boxes then walk across the kitchen counter?? I also know of a cat that, when it’s owner went away for the weekend, climbed up on the owner’s bed and “relieved” itself on her pillow just to show how much she appreciated that little weekend alone! Are they smarter or just more calculating?….

    Oh, and maybe the thing that made me a decidedly “dog” person was as a child, visiting friends for Sunday dinner, and after seeing the cat lick the tuna out of the tuna salad bowl (as it was being prepared for us), I just lost my appetite for lunch and really for cats as pets for quite possibly the rest of my life…..

  25. josh permalink
    August 5, 2009 3:01 pm

    Someone needs to respond to Shelley or this debate is OVER.

  26. tasha permalink
    August 5, 2009 3:56 pm

    @shelley — yes, but dogs like to lick their rear, and then lick your face…ewwww

  27. Christy permalink
    August 5, 2009 5:13 pm

    there is a reason there’s no such thing as a feline unit in the police department….

  28. shelley permalink
    August 5, 2009 6:38 pm

    btw, a funny fridge magnet I once saw:

    Dogs have owners. Cats have staff.

    =)

    p.s. our dog knows her boundaries about licking my face–I agree–ewwwww!!!!

  29. Danae permalink
    August 10, 2009 11:19 am

    Plus, so what if dogs lick their private areas! They have cleaner tongues than people! Besides, would you rather have a cat lick you with a rough tongue, or a dog that’ll lick your foot and make it tickle. It’s pain vs. funky feelings here, and I like funky feelings! Cats lick themselves with their tongues and you’ll be finding hairballs all OVER the place! Dogs, they don’t clean their fur, so, no hairballs. Plus, have you ever been licked in the eyelid by a cat??? It’s not a good feeling! I’d rather have my feet be tickled by a dog’s tongue than my eye burning from a cat’s tongue. Plus, cats like to disappear. You can go days without seeing your cat, when you can go for your entire dog’s life of seeing it, because dogs like to be out in the open, unlike cats who are the main ones with social issues.

Trackbacks

  1. Top posts of 2010 «

Leave a Reply

