Skip to content

Sunday night thoughts

August 23, 2009
5166_1170255499642_1325627536_30471873_2484010_n

Alan Baggins

Another incredible day at The Bridge today.  An incredibly powerful sermon (not mine), a Project Runway fan preacher, great building news.  Some thoughts from today…

  • Alan Hood made his preaching debut today and is obviously gifted.  The guy preached in such a way that God’s Spirit was the main personality in the room.  Powerful.
  • Sermon takeaway: If you’re not intentionally investing in the life of someone spiritually younger than you for the purpose of spiritual growth, you are in direct disobedience to Jesus.
  • Sermon quote: “All it takes for a movement of God to happen is the gospel, someone to speak it, and people who will listen.”  I will never forget that.
  • Sermon quote: “When God is calling you to something he’ll stick it right in front of your face so that you have to go around it to ignore it.  We’re moving to the most densely populated square mile in Spring Hill and there are over 1,000 people less than two-tenths of a mile from our front door.  What more do we need to see?”
  • We’ve said something like this before but we MEAN it this time: we MIGHT have 5 weeks left in Chapman’s Retreat Elementary. Wow.  Anyone else excited about this… do I hear a setup team member?
  • Every time I type this I feel unspiritual, but our band is REALLY, REALLY GOOD. Thanks to these men and women for leading us to the throne with seriousness every single week.
  • When we gave a standing ovation to the guys that have been making huge personal sacrifices to finish the project, SCOTT SHOOPMAN (our Small Groups Pastor) wasn’t mentioned.  Scott is too humble to have been offended, but I was.  Standing ovation for Scott!

Ahh, today was such a good day.  Thanks for being the church you are.  You have no idea how much I love being your pastor.  I love you all.  Good night.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Sue permalink
    August 24, 2009 10:38 am

    Alan knocked it out of the park yesterday! Powerful sermon! I so appreciate all the work he and Shivonne do with The Core.

    And Josh – really – what can one say in response to your pastor talking about urinating in the shower on his blog?! There is no appropriate, dignified response, thus the reason everyone has been ignoring it for the past 3 days. (Although it made for interesting dinner table coversation.)

  2. josh permalink
    August 24, 2009 10:41 am

    Lol – I can see the number of people that clicked the link… trust me, no one’s been ignoring it! I’m sorry, Sue. I don’t have a “pastor face”… you’re officially stuck with a weird pastor.

  3. Shi permalink
    August 24, 2009 2:36 pm

    Yesterday was a great day at The Bridge. It was such an honor for me to watch my husband up there and know that he is excatly where God wants him (and us) to be! I couldn’t help but cry as I watched him share his heart and know that he had spent time with God before he got up there!!! God truly does give us the desires of our hearts when we honor Him. That being said, I feel that way every Sunday. I don’t think we always realize how blessed we are at The Bridge. We are blessed with anointed preaching EVERY week and there is not one week that I leave thinking, “It was just okay today”, every week is a HUGE blessing, I truly worship and I am always learning and growing through the Word we are fed….. We are all truly blessed!

    We love our church family so much are blessed to serve with you all and to be entrusted with your kids! Thank you for loving and supporting my husband. That means more to me than anything!

    @Josh- As far as the urinating thing, I have only had one word since I saw it- Wow! I really don’t know what else to say to that post……:-)

  4. Art permalink
    August 24, 2009 4:13 pm

    Alan was awesome. Great sermon!!!! The people of The Bridge are amazing. God’s hand is over us and Alan proved that yesterday.

    I’d also like to thank Dave Hall for the reminder of who we are building the new facility for. I sometimes forget even when I am standing in the kids classrooms what God has planned for them. Thanks Dave!

    (And Alan is right, we don’t need all of the “stuff” but I will be happy when we aren’t sitting on those cold, hard chairs any more.)

    Art

  5. Art permalink
    August 24, 2009 4:17 pm

    And the shower drains to the same place the toilet does.

  6. alan hood permalink
    August 24, 2009 4:21 pm

    @ art i want complain over comfortable chairs

  7. alan hood permalink
    August 24, 2009 4:22 pm

    i mean won’t

Leave a Reply

