Skip to content

all-time great viral videos

August 24, 2009

After a long day Jana and I like to “decompose”.  At some point in our marriage one of us replaced the word “decompress” with “decompose”, it stuck, and now we ask each other every evening what we want to do to decompose.  Last night I was decomposing by watching the most popular viral videos of the last five years… and laughing my head off.

They were too funny not to share.  So here are my top-5 all time viral videos in ascending order (least favorite to most favorite)…

1.  “Boom goes the dynamite”.  All I can say is “teleprompter malfunction”.  This is painful to watch.

2.  “Dramatic Prairie Dog”.  I have no idea why this is so funny, but it’s the funniest 5 second video ever made.

3.  “Charlie bit me”

4. “Numa Numa!” (the 2nd most famous viral video ever)  A high school kid is messing around on his webcam, records himself lip syncing a German pop song, and becomes an overnight internet rockstar.  I get the feeling I’d like to hang out with this kid.

5. “The Star Wars Kid” (the most famous viral video ever)

OK, so the story on this is that this high school student was alone in the AV room right after Star Wars Episode I came out and was apparently a fan.  So he recorded himself wielding a golf ball retriever after the fashion of a light-saber, imitating Darth Maul.  Unfortunately, he forgot to erase the tapes… which now live in infamy after some classmates found them the next day.

For years this guy hated this video but has recently embraced his identity as “The Star Wars Kid” and even tried to get a cameo in the final Star Wars movie.

If you’re seeing this on facebook or through the email feed, visit the blog to see the videos.  If you’ve got a video to add, let us know…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2009 8:24 pm

    these are some of my favs too! especially the numa numa guy–when i went on my mission trip to russia my team heard that song everywhere we went. LOVE IT

  2. Cierra Lawson permalink
    August 24, 2009 10:12 pm

    ha ha ha this literally made my day! thanks Josh!!

  3. Mary Bea permalink
    August 24, 2009 11:22 pm

    “Boom Goes the Dynamite” is now going to be a part of my everyday conversation.

  4. August 25, 2009 6:03 am

    Reading THAT post was a most excellent way to begin my day.

Trackbacks

  1. Top posts of 2010 «

Leave a Reply

