Skip to content

Sunday [and Monday] night thoughts…

August 31, 2009

Sunday was an INCREDIBLE day [again] at The Bridge.  So incredible that I wrote this post and forgot to hit “publish” so it would be up Monday.  Watching God fall on a group of people in worship, feeling him move while his Word is being taught, and standing around after the worship gathering talking to people about what they feel God moving them to do NEVER gets old.

Some thoughts…

  • Worship was seriously powerful.  Jimi Williams and the band led us in Biblically rich songs today that simply took us to God’s throne.  I could listen to that version of “O, For a Thousand Tongues” about 1,345,657 times in a row and be fine.
  • Always good to see a pair of skinny jeans onstage.  Shout out to their owner who is an off-the-charts guitarist for his age!
  • All of us need to become and seek people who embrace and remind of the truth of this latin phrase “simul iustus et peccator”: “we are at the same time righteous (or “accepted”) and sinful.
  • 2 types of people NO ONE needs in their lives: “sin police” (love to show you your sinfulness, never remind you that you’re loved and accepted by God) and “enablers” (love to remind you that God accepts you, but overlook sin as if it’s no big deal)
  • If you don’t have a person or people in your life that you not only ACCEPT but ASK FOR accountability for sin in your life, you’re in direct disobedience to Scripture.  Everyone NEEDS this.
  • You need other people in your life to help you see your sin and your failure to accept Jesus’ righteousness because we are all TERRIBLE self-evaluators.  Don’t believe me?  Exhibit A…

Seriously, that (↑) is how bad fallen human hearts are at evaluating themselves in any area

  • A final guideline: someone needs to ASK you for accountability.  Unless you’re REALLY close to them (maybe you’re a siamese twin) you don’t just “offer” confrontation of someone’s sin unless you’re in a position of spiritual authority over them, in which case Scripture might call you to do so as in the case of elders and church discipline.
  • Seriously, seriously BUMMED about having to reschedule the church-wide retreat.  We’re already on the horn with Henry-Horton Park (where we’re staying a weekend in the Spring) and planning an incredible weekend.
6 Comments leave one →
  1. Shi permalink
    August 31, 2009 10:27 pm

    Powerful and convicting sermon for me yesterday. Thank you for preaching the truth.

  2. Andrea permalink
    August 31, 2009 11:24 pm

    Man, I’m sorry I missed the sermon this Sunday (nursery work, but have only been able to listen to 1/2 the sermon at home due to “blessings”), but just wanted to chime in anyway because we (The Wandell Family) have recently begun to participate in fellowship at the Bridge. It seems like I am learning 10 times more now in fellowship than I was isolated in Nashville “on my own-ing” it. The help, encouragement, counsel and laughter offered by the men and women here has been a treasure to Nathan and to me. We call fellowship “messy” because maybe we might step on a few toes trying to love each other to Jesus, but really it’s just a beautiful thing. I think we’re all afraid to share our sin because it’s dirty, but so much healing can come from the confession of sin and the prayers of the body of Christ. I am so grateful to be a part of this body and to have experienced so much grace as my messiness has naturally poured out as I’ve been among you. Thank you church!
    (And I’m just really sorry about my terrible grammar tonight, but not sorry enough to fix it! Ha!)

  3. September 1, 2009 9:34 am

    I MISS THE BRIDGE!!!

  4. September 1, 2009 9:35 am

    HOW I MISS THE BRIDGE!!!

  5. tasha permalink
    September 1, 2009 10:22 am

    The sermon was convicting for me as well; it made me realize how much I miss that kind of fellowship and how much I need and desire it here. I’m seeking it with eyes wide open.

  6. josh permalink
    September 1, 2009 11:12 am

    @tasha – so are people around us, I’m sure. Kick it off!

Leave a Reply

