Skip to content

best coffee shop in Spring Hill

September 1, 2009

My two favorite things about my job are getting to hang out with people and sermon prep.  Both of those things have put me in coffee shops almost every day (and sometimes twice per day) since starting at The Bridge last year.  After an estimated 200+ trips to Starbucks this year, my coffee-shop-of-choice in Spring Hill is starting to shift… no offense to Starbucks employees or fans.  I wanted to share it because Jana and I love it, it has great coffee, and is a great and cheap date place.

Ladies and Gentlemen, Utopia Coffee…

Best things about Utopia:

1) The coffee is always fresh (they brew it in small quantities so it never sits) and is really smooth.

2) Extremely relaxing.  Jana’s and my favorite date locations is (or should it be “are”?) the two rocking chairs on the front porch.  If not, there are three rooms full of couches, tables, and chairs inside.

3) Atmosphere.  Each of the three rooms are decorated with a local artist’s work – including one of The Bridge’s very own, Kelli Cole.  The place is just cool.

4) Seth.  Utopia is owned and run by Seth (whose last name I haven’t learned yet) and his wife that started it on their own a couple years ago.  They are both humble, smart, and caring people – and expecting their first child soon!

5) Good non-coffee drinks.  I’ve heard the Pink Flamingo (my manhood hasn’t allowed me to order this yet) and the Frozen Snickers are the best.

Utopia’s website is here and it’s on 31 right next to the “His House” church building tucked in behind a grey cinder block sign company.  Has anybody else tried this yet?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennifer Lyles Williams permalink
    September 1, 2009 9:34 pm

    I agree! Great place, great coffee! You have to try the scones, too!

  2. Beth permalink
    September 2, 2009 9:40 am

    I hear they also have great sandwiches. When I worked for the real estate company in Spring Hill, many of the agents would meet clients there or have lunch meetings.

  3. shelley permalink
    September 2, 2009 9:49 am

    Even this non-coffee-drinker LOVES utopia! They have a fun collection of games in their games closet! I never stay long enough for the kids to finish a game of Risk!

    Farmers Market is there Friday nights 6-9pm. Gotta support our local businesses!

    -shelley

  4. Lynetta permalink
    September 2, 2009 11:37 am

    This place is a taste of home for me. The first time I walked in there, I had to do a double take. It was like a little bit of Oregon had been transplanted to the South! Little mom & pop coffee shops are part of what give the west coast its charm. And I agree with you, it has the best coffee in town.

  5. Ben Lawson permalink
    September 2, 2009 12:50 pm

    Josh,

    As has been previously discussed, your commenting on such movies as The Notebook and other assorted references to female related cinema from the pulpit, has forced you to relinquish your man card. So as I see it, you are hereby only allowed to drink the Pink Flamingo. Coffee is for real men!!!

  6. Lora permalink
    September 2, 2009 1:36 pm

    OH JOSH!!! NOT SNICKERS>>>YUCK!!! It’s MILKY WAY!!! Way different and MUCH better!!! Also, Seth just loves for the teens to come in and hang out after school. I would go in this summer and he would tell me he really misses school being in session.

  7. josh permalink
    September 2, 2009 3:06 pm

    Ben – I’ll wager my coffee consumption against any man around these parts!

Leave a Reply

