Skip to content

Coke, Soda, or Pop?

September 21, 2009

Yesterday I was asked if I wanted a “pop” for the third time this month… which is lunacy!  EVERYONE knows that this (pictured below) is a COKE.  Plain and simple.  And then there are the “soda” people who are nutters from the northeast!

soda_pic

what is this called?

Let’s settle this issue once and for all.  Defend your position: What is it – soda, coke, or pop!?

46 Comments leave one →
  1. josh permalink
    September 21, 2009 8:03 pm

    I’ll start here. It’s COKE, ladies and gentlemen. Coke! I know, I know – “That’s a brand-name”. Nobody cares. Post-it and Velcro are also brand-names that are used for an entire line of products. In the south especially, a soft-drink is properly called a “Coke”.

  2. Kaitlyn Victoria Neace permalink
    September 21, 2009 8:44 pm

    it is a COKE 🙂 [ i miss you joshh ]

  3. Mary Bea Johnson permalink
    September 21, 2009 8:45 pm

    Where I come from this was how the conversation went… Them: Would you bring me a coke? Me: Sure, what kind? Them: Dr. Pepper (or whatever other kind of coke they wanted…

  4. Brett McDonald permalink
    September 21, 2009 8:45 pm

    waiter: what would you like to drink?
    me: coke
    waiter: what kind?
    me: dr. pepper

    • Matthew Svoboda permalink
      September 22, 2009 1:27 pm

      Not this waiter… You tell me you want a COKE that is what you are going to get.

      It’s a SODA! You dont call every baseball bat a Louisville Slugger. You dont call every car a Ford. Come on… Only people who dont care about God’s glory in language and grammar call it a Coke. Yes, I just tried to make a spiritual point in order to win this argument. 🙂

  5. Brenton Hippler permalink
    September 21, 2009 8:45 pm

    You’re all correct. When I’m in KY or the south, it’s a Coke. When I go home to northern Ohio, it’s a pop and when I’m here in Panama, it’s a soda. I use them all depending on where I am.

  6. Daniel Kassis permalink
    September 21, 2009 8:46 pm

    We “nutters” from the west coast call it soda because that’s what it is. “Coke” is a brand name, not a general group of carbonated beverages. If you asked me what kind of Coke I want, I’d probably answer “Diet” because that is a kind of Coke. “7-Up” would not be a proper answer because its made by a different company.

    You southern types are biased toward Coke because the company began in Atlanta. “Pop” just sounds funny. Soda is where it’s at.

  7. Deenie Daugherty permalink
    September 21, 2009 8:46 pm

    From the shape of the glass, I would guess that this particular drink is Coca-Cola (COKE). From the color of the liquid however, it could be Pepsi, Dr. Pepper, RC or any number of other dark colored soft drinks not to be called COKE, but rather Pepsi, Dr. Pepper, RC, etc. When offering a soft-drink, if you don’t know what sort of soft-drink the person would like to have, you would ask them, “Would you like some POP?” – Opinion from the state of Iowa – the heartland of America. 🙂

  8. Mary Bea Johnson permalink
    September 21, 2009 8:47 pm

    Deep south folks where I come from call it a co-cola if they are wanting a co-cola…all the other carbonated beverages are just coke…but we only put our peanuts in a co-cola

  9. brian permalink
    September 21, 2009 9:16 pm

    coke

  10. maddie. permalink
    September 21, 2009 9:26 pm

    my vote is DEFINITELY for pop. however, in mt. washington, it is coke. in some crazy places it is soda. i, therefore, must contend that it depends upon where you are geographically.

  11. Melanie Cooke permalink
    September 21, 2009 10:03 pm

    Well I was born in Texas (right on Justin!), but raised in Eastern Ky, all my family is from Piiikeville (gotta say that with a lotta “i’s”) and we drink Pepsi! So it’s Pop, because we don’t like Coke!! So there!

  12. Kelli Smith Cole permalink
    September 21, 2009 10:04 pm

    POP!!! Pepsi is not Coke, Dr. Pepper is not Coke, Sprite is not Coke. Call it Pop and you are covered. lol

  13. Tammy Daugherty Ver Steeg permalink
    September 21, 2009 10:04 pm

    It’s POP!!! I wholeheartedly agree with my mom, Kelli, and sort of with Dan. 😉 If you’re in Minnesota, it’s a soda. Pop or soda is correct. Coke, as has already been stated, is a trademark name of a specific beverage. When I order a pop here in the south, at a restaurant, I ask for “Coke” or “Pepsi”, whichever they have. If I was a “Sprite” or “7-Up”, I ask for that. I know all you southerners would love to disagree, but….oh, whatever. Call it what you want!! 😉

  14. Shivonne Lanette Hood permalink
    September 21, 2009 10:05 pm

    I am from the south and it is definitely soda! It makes no sense to call everything type of soda a coke!!!

  15. Mary Bea Johnson permalink
    September 21, 2009 10:05 pm

    Shivonne keeps saying she’s from the south, but she says “soda” and she doesn’t eat pork or fried chicken…I’m starting to have my doubts…

  16. Deenie Daugherty permalink
    September 21, 2009 10:05 pm

    Is there a theological study anywhere here?

  17. Jason permalink
    September 21, 2009 10:06 pm

    it is coke. it is always coke. it will always be coke.

  18. Marlene Teague permalink
    September 21, 2009 10:08 pm

    I’m with Mary Bea..it’s co-cola in the south..and you drink it with fried chicken….or at Pancho’s 🙂

  19. Heather Teague permalink
    September 21, 2009 10:08 pm

    I’m with my momma and Mary Bea!!! It ain’t called soda, and it ain’t called pop!!! It’s called co-cola!!!!!! I’m just sayin’…… its a southern thing!

  20. September 21, 2009 10:24 pm

    Born, raised in the midwest, Ohio…we called everything pop….but being a southerner by choice…I say COKE! But really, is there anything else?

    Of course in Ohio we called chocolate syrup-dope! Or at lease that is what my dad always called it. “Going to the store to get some icecream dad, want anything?” “Yea, get me some dope.” I knew what he was talking about.

  21. Andrea permalink
    September 21, 2009 11:14 pm

    I used to be a “coke” sayer, but now I offer guests in our home “soda”. So, even though I’m a southerner, I’m finding that soda is a middle ground between coke and pop, so that’s what’s becoming normal for me now.

  22. Molly Turner permalink
    September 22, 2009 12:21 am

    Josh Howerton. I am so glad you brought this up.
    I just had this conversation yesterday!!
    Now living in Ohio…people make fun of me all the time!! I ALWAYS call any soft drink, “coke” no matter what it is, or what the brand. Where up here they call it “pop”…which I think is just ridiculous. But anyway, to each his own.
    But us southerners know how to say it correctly!!

  23. Jeff Reed permalink
    September 22, 2009 7:04 am

    Coke is a brand name.

  24. Jeff Lash permalink
    September 22, 2009 7:04 am

    My vote…pop. Soda works just as well. But Coke…come on. As already said, Coke is a brand…a type of soda or pop. When someone asks you what you want to drink and you say Coke…and they ask you what kind, it can’t be anything other than a type of Coca-Cola. Mountain Dew or Dr. Pepper is not Coke.

  25. Seth Slack permalink
    September 22, 2009 7:05 am

    Coke is any soda in the south. But bein’ the southern republican I am i’m just an idiot. What do I know?!?! lolz

  26. Tyler Whetstone permalink
    September 22, 2009 7:05 am

    “Coke” is a brand name, yes. But “Soda,” technically, is fizzy water — seltzer. And “Pop” is an onomatopœia for the sound made by a cork bursting from a bottleneck or a 50’s slang word for “Dad.”

    By the way, we use brand names to mean the broader thing for LOTS of products. Xerox for copier, Kleenex for facial tissue, Jell-O for gelatin dessert, Zamboni for ice-rink-resurfacer.

    Heck, “Kitty Litter” is a brand name. Nobody ever thinks about that one, eh? ‘Cause “cat sand” sounds dumb….

  27. Jeff Reed permalink
    September 22, 2009 7:05 am

    But you don’t say “what kind of kleenex do you have?” How about soft drink?

  28. Tyler Whetstone permalink
    September 22, 2009 7:06 am

    Soft drink is anything non-alcoholic. Lemonade is a soft drink. Tea is a soft drink.

    And people recognize “What kind of Coke?” as a valid question. So booyah.

  29. Jeff Reed permalink
    September 22, 2009 7:06 am

    Spoken like a true Southerner.

  30. Tyler Whetstone permalink
    September 22, 2009 7:06 am

    Raised in Oklahoma, college-educated in Tennessee.
    But born in Illinois and raised by natives thereof.
    So I’m a quasi-southerner.

  31. Shelley Johnston Stedman permalink
    September 22, 2009 7:07 am

    definitely pop. coke is too specific.

  32. Beth permalink
    September 22, 2009 9:31 am

    Co-cola, of course with peanuts, and RC cola with moon pies. Mary Bea, you maybe one of the smartest people I know!

  33. Debi Presley Ogle permalink
    September 22, 2009 10:03 am

    born/raised in the midwest-Ohio, we called everything POP..but being a southerner by choice I say COKE…although my dad always called chocolate syrup-dope. “Goin to the store to get some icecream dad, want anything? “Yeah, get me some dope!” I knew what he was talking about. Miss that guy ALOT!

  34. Preston Kinnard permalink
    September 22, 2009 10:04 am

    AHEM!! it is a COKE!… now what kind of coke… THAT is the question. if u dont wana call it “coke” then call it by its actual name, ex.(coca-cola, mountain dew, doctor pepper, sprite, pepsi) if this is too much effort for u then call it COKE and stop bein difficult! 🙂

  35. September 22, 2009 11:14 am

    Okay, I’m not from the northeast, but I’m still going to call that a SODA unless you inform me that it’s a COKE. Then I would call it a COKE. If that beverage was clear and carbonated, it’s not a COKE, it’s a SODA. If that is a Dr. Pepper, it’s a SODA…what about MOUNTAIN DEW…I have never once heard a Southerner call a Mountain Dew a COKE. They call it a Mountain Dew. I feel that since I lived all over the country growing up but still claim the South, you should listen to me 🙂

  36. Andrea permalink
    September 22, 2009 11:17 am

    So maybe saying “carbonated beverage” would be more appropriate. Which I have offered before, but it just feels weird saying it!

  37. josh permalink
    September 22, 2009 11:20 am

    Hey everybody – someone just sent me this link. Apparently there’s been some serious research put into this question…

    • Matthew Svoboda permalink
      September 22, 2009 1:28 pm

      That graph is hilarious.

  38. Andrea permalink
    September 22, 2009 4:17 pm

    apparently, our North Carolina neighbors have backslidden…
    Awesome link.

  39. Kelli permalink
    September 22, 2009 5:47 pm

    See!! Most of America agrees… Pop it is. 🙂

  40. josh permalink
    September 22, 2009 5:59 pm

    Kelli – If most of America jumped off a bridge…

  41. Greg permalink
    September 22, 2009 7:42 pm

    So what would “other” be?

  42. Lora permalink
    September 22, 2009 9:34 pm

    I will just drink from the bubbly….LOL anyone knows what THAT is???

  43. josh permalink
    September 22, 2009 10:14 pm

    @Greg – Jana’s family calls it (phonetically) “Sod-ee”

  44. September 24, 2009 10:04 am

    *i give people who call it pop strange looks*

Leave a Reply

