Skip to content

best and worst halloween candy?

November 3, 2009

Jana and I debated this yesterday over dinner. What is the best and the worst Halloween candy a kid can get?  In my opinion, any full or king-size candy bar is an absolute score.

snickers-king-size

On the other hand, both of us agreed that there is hardly anything worse than either circus peanuts or those generic orange and black peanut butter candies you only see at Halloween.

So we submit this to you in the name of Kid-dom everywhere: What is the best and the worst Halloween candy?

18 Comments leave one →
  1. Scott Slater permalink
    November 3, 2009 11:43 pm

    while I have never recieved those circus peanuts (still would not be happy if I did) I would have to second that about the orang and black things. But I think the worst you can get are like bottle caps, or smarties or something. The best is a harder question to ask

  2. Sarah Edmunson permalink
    November 3, 2009 11:43 pm

    😦 i like the orange and black peanut butter candies! anything peanut butter is my favorite!! i hate anything licorice…blech…and that pink bubble gum.

    • November 4, 2009 3:35 pm

      ME TOO SARAH! I bought a bag of the peanut butter candies just for me… hehe…
      and yes, yuck on licorice and the peanut thingys aren’t good. I hate bit-o-honeys too. ick.

  3. Becky permalink
    November 4, 2009 12:11 am

    Jimmy LOVES circus peanuts!!

  4. November 4, 2009 7:24 am

    The worst… Those orange and yellow corn candies. Pure sugar, no chocolate, etc…

    The best… No doubt about it… Butterfingers

  5. Mary Bea permalink
    November 4, 2009 10:39 am

    see I love the orange & black peanut butter things…now…but I don’t think I did as a kid…BUT Rick I have always loved candy corn!! And I’ve always loved smarties…WORST candy is bottle caps or Good n’Plenty–blech!..BEST candy anything chocolate…EXCEPT Almond joy…I’d always trade those…

  6. shelley permalink
    November 4, 2009 10:44 am

    LOVE the orange & black peanut butter candies — and my dentist loves me for it! =( Best American candy: 100Grand. Best Canadian: Aero bars. Mmmmmm…..

  7. josh permalink
    November 4, 2009 11:06 am

    Shelley, Mary Bea, and Sarah – I should be scheduling you all psychiatric examinations right now. LIKING the orange and black generic candy? There’s a reason they produce them in bulk for pennies and only sell them at Halloween. They’re sick!

  8. Lora permalink
    November 4, 2009 11:32 am

    NOTHING peanut butter or peanuts! YUCK!! Now anything chocolate or smarties…oh ya!!

  9. Dale permalink
    November 4, 2009 12:17 pm

    Snickers should be in the food pyramid.

  10. Marianne permalink
    November 4, 2009 12:40 pm

    Worst I EVER got in my bag as a kid was Ritz crackers. No kidding, we obviously woke this old guy up who came to the door scratching his belly (vivid memory!) who then went to his kitchen and came back with loose Ritz crackers. They broke all down in our bags and made a mess of the rest of the candy. After that, I’d say bring on the circus peanuts. Anything is better than A Ritz!!!

  11. Susan Howerton permalink
    November 4, 2009 2:36 pm

    @ Marianne – “what are you hungry for when you don’t know what you’re hungry for?…”
    Best: homemade popcorn balls I used to get when I was a kid from the Popcorn ball lady on my street (which I’d never let my kids eat if they got one today.).

    Worst: Dum-Dum suckers! There’s a reason they call them that!

    But I must jump on the orange and black peanut butter candy wagon. I LOVE those things!!

  12. Nathan W. permalink
    November 4, 2009 4:46 pm

    I can’t believe no one’s mentioned raisins yet as the worst possible Halloween candy. Oh yeah, it’s because they’re not candy! Yet some well-meaning parent will try and pass these off as candy when they belong in the kitchen with the other fruits such as apples and oranges. Now, I will say it might be a possibility to add candied apples to the list of acceptable Halloween candies, but notice it’s got the word “candy” in the name. When they come out with “candied raisins” then we can consider whether or not these are worthy to be considered in the Halloween candy category.

    By the way, Andrea and I did NOT have a “spirited discussion” regarding this topic on Friday night in the candy aisle at Target.

  13. josh permalink
    November 4, 2009 4:51 pm

    Were there any raisins, apples, or oranges in that aisle, Nathan?

    • Nathan W. permalink
      November 4, 2009 5:14 pm

      No apples or oranges…but those little red boxes of Sun-Maid raisins were prominently displayed, just begging for someone to buy them so they could get their house egged, or at least raisined.

      • Andrea permalink
        November 4, 2009 10:23 pm

        So in that aisle, I learned that raisins, cute pretzel packs, apples, and anything remotely healthy is not to be passed out on Halloween night from our home…. And something about being missional by giving out only the “good stuff.”

        But I’m with the ladies that like the cheapo peanut butter candy. Josh, what is going on man? That is quite good. When I saw the picture of it, I though, “man, I can’t believe I forgot to get those this year!”

  14. Susan Howerton permalink
    November 5, 2009 12:13 am

    You can probably still get those yummy orange and black peanut butter candies at Walgreens for like a quarter by now. Somebody pick me up some when you get yours. I’m still on lock down. 🙂

  15. Amber permalink
    May 12, 2010 4:46 pm

    I Thing That I Will Go With The Circus Candy! Because That Other Candy Is NASTY.! Yes With Capitols!

Leave a Reply

