Skip to content

7 clear-headed thoughts.

November 16, 2009
Jana and I just got back from what we agreed was the best vacation we’ve ever had together.  In order not to incite jealousy, I won’t describe our time but it included lots of sleep, food, redbox trips, and reading.  Besides reconnecting with Jana, I think the best result of the vacation was clearing my head and really reflecting on life and ministry.

Five thoughts from the last week are sticking out to me as we get back in the saddle…

1) I don’t want to waste my life.  When you’re going a thousand miles an hour with the to-do list in hand it’s easy to forget that “your life is a vapor” and that you only get one chance to do something eternal with it.  I left vacation with an overwhelming desire not to live my life for things that don’t matter and in so doing waste it.  I refuse to stop praying for and seeking great movements of God and settle for worthless little pleasures.

2) A sabbath-less Christianity is sin.  It’s been a long time since I set aside a day per week to not work.  Some people look at this as lazy.  Those people are ignorant and have probably never tried this. It takes discipline to organize your life in such a way that you can sabbath.  Sabbath includes not only not working, but seeking rest in God through Scripture and prayer.

The funny thing is that the quality of my work dramatically improves when I’m obedient here because I’m not running on empty all the time.  I’m going to do this.

3) “The Accidental Husband” is the worst movie ever.  Uma Thurman is the lead character. This needs no further explanation.

4) The actual words of Scripture are literally God-breathed and they are powerful.  I took the week of quiet times to read, study, and reflect on passages of Scripture that talk about Scripture.  I wanted to remind myself how Scripture treats itself.  It’s easy for my belief in the power of the Bible to slowly fade over time from worldly influences.  Scripture uses the following words about itself: powerful, sharp, God-breathed, “cannot be broken”, sweet, sure, it is a “light”, true, “rejoicing the heart”, piercing.

5) Jana is really, really, really fun.  We basically laughed for 5 days.  I also found out that Jana does a mean Fergie impression if she starts singing “I Gotta Feeling” 🙂

6) Never tweet or give the appearance of tweeting while you’re in the hot-tub with your wife.  Facebook mayhem will ensue…

Picture 1

7) In God there is a rest that no amount of sleep or vacation can provide.
Hebrews says that being in God’s presence is analogous to “entering into rest”.  You can sleep, sabbath, and vacation all you want. Without God’s presence in your life, your heart will not be at rest.  At the same time, you may have 1,000 t0-d0 list items, a financial crisis on your hands, a boss breathing down your neck, and/or 5 kids running around and screaming their heads off… but if you have Christ in your heart you can have rest NOW.
One Comment leave one →
  1. November 18, 2009 3:11 pm

    Thank you for this. I laughed but more importantly I was encouraged. Thank you for speaking truth and following so hard after our God.

Leave a Reply

