Skip to content

Try it: STUDY Scripture for a morning devotion

December 2, 2009

I’m getting ready to be really honest here.

Until about a month ago, when someone said they were “studying” Scripture during their morning devotion I would nod my head meaningfully like I knew what they were talking about but I really had NO IDEA what that looked like whatsoever.  Another moment of brute honesty: just reading – while Biblically commanded and invaluable – has been one of the least effective ways for me to encounter and hear from God through the Scriptures.  It’s too easy to lapse into your eyes just passing over words you don’t understand and that aren’t sinking into your soul.

I’ve been doing an “inductive study” on Psalm 119 for the last few weeks (about 6 verses per day) and it’s been intensely stirring and spiritually rich.  Studying Scripture is simple, Biblically rich, practical, and it works God’s Words into your mind so that you remember them throughout the day.

Try this tomorrow morning:

Pick a short section of Scripture (I’ve been going by the headings in my Bible) and write these three things on a piece of paper or a page in your journal…

  • What does it say?
  • What does it mean?
  • What is God saying to me today?

Under “What does it say?” jot down every minute detail you notice – EVERYTHING, no matter how small.  Under “What does it mean?” interpret, in your own words, all of the things the passage says and implies.  Finally, under “What is God saying to me today?” write down the thing that hit your heart the most as you worked through the passage.  I’ve been spending about 30 minutes on this each day and it’s been incredible.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

