Skip to content

favorite Christmas tradition?

December 9, 2009

Jana and I usually put up our Christmas tree on Halloween (enjoy it as long as you can, right?) and I am absolutely GIDDY about giving Jana her present this year.  All the family piling into one house, playing cards, grazing on unhealthy food, watching movies, and napping around the house together with football on = my on-earth heaven.  Needless to say, I can’t wait for the Christmas season to get in full-swing.

warm and fuzzies abound

So in anticipation of Christmas, let’s start the buzz. What was your favorite Christmas tradition with your family growing up?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Jill Keck permalink
    December 10, 2009 12:09 am

    We always got to open one present on Christmas Eve and it was always a new pair of Christmas pjs. It was nice to have a new pair of pjs to wear Christmas morning for pictures opening presents. I have continued the tradition with my husband and daughter and have just as much fun shopping for the perfect Christmas pjs as receiving them!

  2. Stephanie Baxter Manns permalink
    December 10, 2009 1:14 am

    I can tell you what I miss. We used to live with my grandparents. It was always fun to have that advantage because everyone in the whole family would come over there. The older people would play rook and all of my cousins, myself included would play together. We always enjoyed putting the tree up together. One year my papaw caught it on fire. On my moms side of the family, we always have my grandmas cheesy peas and potato casserole, along with the Christmas story marathon. Which by the way I’m looking forward to this year. I have to say- I don’t have a ‘favorite’ part of Christmas. I really just enjoy the company of those i love. I am looking forward to me and Brian starting some new traditions once we start our own little family!!!! something to look forward too… 🙂

  3. Becky permalink
    December 10, 2009 9:37 am

    At my mom’s house we always read from Luke 2 before we open any gifts and the kids always take turns reading it. It has been so sweet watching the progression with new little readers, such sweet voices reading God’s holy word about a holy night. My niece and nephew were the readers for a long time but now some of our kids are old enough that they get their chance as well. And if someone is barely reading we give them the chance and everyone is so patient even though they know what’s coming next. Precious memories!

  4. Jennifer permalink
    December 10, 2009 9:52 am

    My favorite Christmas tradition:

    My grandmother would gather us all around and set out her navitity while reading the Christmas story from Luke 2.

  5. Mary Bea permalink
    December 10, 2009 3:15 pm

    No one BIG tradition stands out…it’s lots of little ones…I grew up in a small town and one of my favorite things was the annual visits from various friends that would just drop by to visit and bring their Christmas goodies…(Jo’s molasses cookies, Mrs. Robbins and her fudge…driving around town just me and my grandmother to look at all the Christmas lights is a memory I only share with her…sitting at the piano in the light of the fire and the tree trying to play carols and singing at the top of my lungs with my brother shouting at me to stop…and sitting upstairs in the attic wrapping packages with Mom and her teaching me how to wrap packages not just so it’s covered, but that it looks like it was wrapped with love…and at church on Christmas Eve at the end of the service when we would all hold candles and stand in a big circle around the pews and sing a Christmas carol…I love Christmas!

  6. josh permalink
    December 10, 2009 3:40 pm

    @Jill – I LOVE that idea. Nothing like a new pair of PJ’s to wake up in on Christmas day. Fun!

  7. Sue permalink
    December 10, 2009 6:32 pm

    Church on Christmas Eve followed by dinner at Gramma and Grandpa’s house.

  8. Brianna permalink
    December 11, 2009 6:50 pm

    One of my favorite traditions is all of us kids have a red “Santa” sack (pillowcase). We fill it with all of our presents for our family members. On Christmas morning, going from youngest to oldest, we each give out the presents from our sacks and everyone opens our present to them at the same time. Another tradition I like is the girls of our neighborhood gather at someone’s house and bake all kinds of Christmas treats. Everyone gets to take some home!

Leave a Reply

