Skip to content

thoughts?

January 14, 2010

My buddy took a picture of this sign that was in a Sunday school room. At first I read it and didn’t think anything about it… and then it bugged me but I didn’t know why… and then it really bugged me.

What is wrong with this?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Ben Lawson permalink
    January 14, 2010 10:10 am

    This is exactly the oposite of what Christ did. This is just a phiosophical way of saying don’t make scratching anyones back important, if they wont even consider you for the job of scratching theirs.

    Romans 5:8
    But, God demomstrates His on love towards us in this, WHILE we were yet SINNERS, Chirst DIED for us.

    • Nathan W. permalink
      January 14, 2010 10:16 am

      …and to make it more ironic, it’s posted right next to a cross.

      Sadly, most days taking up my cross and dying is an option I consider but rarely one that is prioritized. Thankfully, Jesus died for sinners, but if He did what this sign suggests we would all still be dead in our sin.

  2. Heather Michelle Perkins permalink
    January 14, 2010 10:16 am

    Now its bugging me and I dont know why, but some what know why. great.

  3. Sarah LaPointe permalink
    January 14, 2010 10:17 am

    I was going to say the same! Im so glad I read this at 630 in the morning…its going to bug me ALL day!!

  4. shelley permalink
    January 14, 2010 12:10 pm

    conditional love. polar opposite of what Christ lived & died for.

  5. Nathan Suiter permalink
    January 14, 2010 12:35 pm

    In this context I can understand why this quote next to the cross is a contradiction. I am familiar with this saying and I’ve always heard it in reference to dating relationships.

  6. Wayne Campbell permalink
    January 14, 2010 1:17 pm

    It is a self-centered philosophy on life. We don’t choose who we are going to make a priority based on what we think their response will be. It is the opposite of the message that is conveyed by the cross in the same picture. Christ made us a priority, a priority even to death on a cross while many boil him and his will down to being an option.

  7. Tasha Brown permalink
    January 14, 2010 1:17 pm

    what Wayne said .. we aren’t really supposed to be choosing how we treat people based on how they will treat us in return; it seems as if this phrase is encouraging us to put ourselves first when choosing ho we will behave towards others

Leave a Reply

