Skip to content

Jesus wants the rose.

January 25, 2010

THE dominant work God’s been doing in my spirit this year has been embracing the implications of the gospel.  I believe the gospel in my head and speak it with my mouth, but my sinful heart wants to reject it like the body rejects a foreign object.  Let me vomit the main points of what God has been teaching me this year…

The gospel is not advice on how to live; it’s news. The gospel says you don’t achieve salvation; you receive salvation.  The gospel isn’t spelled D-O; it’s spelled D-O-N-E.  The gospel says that I am so bad that God HAD to die for me and so loved that he was GLAD to die for me.  If you (like me) have a checkered past, there is no news better than that in the gospel Jesus’ past becomes my past and Jesus’ future becomes my future.

If you (also like me) struggle to really embrace the gospel, here’s Matt Chandler with the best 3:00 of your day…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Scott Shoopman permalink
    January 26, 2010 10:14 am

    … and that is why I can sing, stand, smile and worship. I am the rose…

  2. shelley permalink
    January 26, 2010 11:29 am

    this got me. wow–the antithesis of the Gospel. that so often both Christians and those who haven’t yet found Christ come to the LORD’s sanctuary and feel condemned instead of redeemed, judgment instead of grace. ugh.

  3. Andrea permalink
    January 26, 2010 12:36 pm

    wow. Thanks for that, Josh.

Leave a Reply

