Skip to content

Do yourself a favor and read this article

February 4, 2010

In the early days of the blog I did this post about my then-man crush – a pastor named Matt Chandler from the Dallas, TX area.

Matt was 28 years old when he started pastoring The Village Church which has grown to over 6,000 people in the last six years under his leadership, but more importantly the guy loves The Bible and exalts Christ with incredible preaching.  Simply put, Matt is one of my heroes.  Matt’s family recently found out that he has what is thought to be inoperable, fatal brain cancer. The Associated Press – a secular source – recently published the following article documenting Matt’s attitude toward his cancer.  We should all read and learn from this because someday we are all going to die and will have a chance to suffer in such a way that it glorifies Christ:

Suffering Well: Faith tested by pastor’s cancer

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Dan Kassis permalink
    February 4, 2010 2:23 pm

    Josh, thanks so much for pointing us to this. Wish I had discovered Matt sooner. I just heard his sermon on Christ alone the other day and wished I would be like him when I grow up. Which is funny because he’s actually a bit younger than me, but you know what I mean.

  2. Scott Shoopman permalink
    February 5, 2010 12:43 pm

    The strength of character to stay the course and lean so wholly on Jesus is remarkable and a great testimony to Matt’s solid foundation and faith. Amazing and encouraging. I do think I will seek out some of his sermons to get to know him better.

    thanks for sharing…

  3. Julie Howerton permalink
    February 9, 2010 8:28 pm

    Wow! I just took advantage of the extra time produced by a school snow day to read the Matt Chandler article. I encourage others to read it. If we all had such a testimony in the face of trials, how powerful our witness would be.

  4. February 26, 2010 1:39 pm

    Just heard Wednesday that Chandler will speak at Together for the Gospel in Louisville, April. Bev and I have already planned to attend. Icing!

Leave a Reply

