Skip to content

best Superbowl commercial?

February 11, 2010

If The Bengals aren’t in the Superbowl I’m usually as invested in the commercials as I am in the game.  So I’ve spent the last 20 years keeping a sharp eye on commercials.  Usually they’re all pretty mediocre with one standout – the Budweiser frogs, Wazzzuuuuuuuup!, Terry Tate: Office Linebacker, the Michael Jordan-Larry Bird showdown.  This year though, there were three that competed for my affections…

Help me settle my ambivalence!  Which was the best or did I miss a winner by omission?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Roderick permalink
    February 11, 2010 9:56 am

    I agree the commercials this year were pretty drab, although, I’ll have to say for me it was Career Builders casual Friday’s.

  2. Jana Howerton permalink
    February 11, 2010 10:00 am

    I loved the Doritos commercial with the little boy!

  3. February 11, 2010 10:01 am

    I didn’t see the Betty White/Snickers, I thought the Bret Favre one was very clever but not haha kindof funny, hands down for me is the Doritos Slap! We all thought it was really funny when we saw it, but what makes it the best in my mind is that it did what commercials strive to do – all night we were quoted the kid and talking about doritos. Isn’t that the whole point? Funny, memorable, quotable. Best commercial in my book!

  4. Ann Scott Harrell permalink
    February 11, 2010 10:56 am

    I loved the Doritos commercial….though I think America voted in favor of Betty White…to me there is nothing like a child, especially one determined to protect his mom….they warm your heart

  5. Sue permalink
    February 11, 2010 11:02 am

    Why the best one was Punxy Palomalu of course! (It wouldn’t be a Super Bowl w/o a Steeler in it!)

    • josh permalink
      February 11, 2010 11:27 am

      Ohhhh, I should’ve added this one Sue. Our family laughed for 5 minutes after that commercial!

  6. February 11, 2010 12:57 pm

    I thought Google’s first-ever TV ad was stellar. Told an entire story simply by showing someone searching, plus some carefully placed sound effects and music. Brilliant.

    • josh permalink
      February 11, 2010 1:08 pm

      Totally agree. From a pure marketing standpoint that was a phenomenal commercial.

  7. Shi permalink
    February 11, 2010 1:33 pm

    Definitely the Doritos commercial with the kid! That was hilarious!

  8. Sue permalink
    February 11, 2010 3:14 pm

    But for the Google ad you actually to be READING it.

  9. February 11, 2010 8:04 pm

    i like the doritos one too! but..and i feel like this is blasphemy or something…i didn’t watch any of the super bowl or commercials–this is the first i’ve seen of them! *shame*

  10. cks permalink
    February 12, 2010 7:41 pm

    The VW PunchDub with Stevie Wonder should get an Honorable Mention.

    Interesting commercial pairings though… did anyone else notice that the Betty White tackle & the Pam Tebow tackle were back to back? And the casual Fridays ad was followed by the “I wear no pants” Dockers ad? How about a miniaturized Palomalu following miniaturized KISS?

    • josh permalink
      February 13, 2010 2:39 pm

      The application of your insight knows no bounds.

Leave a Reply

