Skip to content

you’re the blogger

March 9, 2010

You’re the blogger today because there’s some info I’m really wanting to hear.

In what was one of the most fun conversations I’ve ever had, two elders stuck around after an early meeting on Monday and talked for about an hour and a half about the nature of spiritual growth and the church.  A TON of our conversation was about the value of personal discipleship.  For instance, Jeff Carlisle (picture below) met with me for an hour every week for two years for personal discipleship and completely changed my life.

just threw another shrimp on the barbie

Here’s my question: Have you ever been discipled by someone? If so, what did that look like?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2010 8:27 pm

    I have been discipled and have discipled many since college. During college through the Bible studies I was in and would lead it was very structured–we met at a specific time, assigned reading through a devotional and scripture memory each week and talked about specific issues for accountability–generally focusing on main parts of life, in school it would be classes, evangelism, relationships, time with the Lord, etc… Since college my discipleship relationships have been a bit more about doing life together, but still being sure to talk about the important issues. I think that without a structure it is easy to struggle with the segue from “normal” conversation to spiritual/real conversations about our struggles and what God is doing. I think you have to learn to blend the two things…spend time together regularly and show Christ in “real life” situations and also be sure to hold one another accountable in spiritual disciplines and the hard things that you struggle with.

  2. Tracy Simmons permalink
    March 10, 2010 1:27 pm

    Yes. We met weekly, and if we couldn’t meet in person, we did it over the phone or via email. Usually, we were studying a book of the Bible, or would do a Bible study together, and would come to the meeting with questions or comments about what we were learning. To get to know me more personally, she’d ask very simple, yet challenging, questions that required introspection on my part. So, not only did she get to know me better, but I got to know ME better too. She’s still a very valuable part of my life even though we don’t get to see each other as often as before.

  3. shelley permalink
    March 11, 2010 12:58 am

    While personal discipleship is important, i think there can sometimes be a *danger* of relying too much on “a person” for mentoring and truth-seeking/telling, and forgetting (or minimizing) the importance of digging into scripture and spending time communing with God (listening & praying). That line from the very old & very cheesy movie, ghostbusters, comes to mind: “who ya gonna call?” When a trial or decision arises, or we experience a miracle, who do we go to first? I know it’s easy for me to talk to my peeps first, when instead I should be going to God first.

    I also feel very strongly that everyone should have someone ahead of them on the road and behind them on the road — to be mentored (discipled) by an older/wiser Christ-follower, and BE a mentor to a younger/greener Christian. I have not ever had the blessing of meeting with someone on a regular basis to discuss spiritual matters, but my discipling relationships have been more informal (for lack of a better word!)

Leave a Reply

