Skip to content

link love

March 11, 2010

I’ve read a string of great (not just good) posts lately.  Here goes…

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2010 9:54 am

    On the idea of genetically predisposed to a certain sin or we have been culturally overtaken by a particular sin… I definitely battle gluttony, a sin that is oftentimes blessed, or at least halfheartedly mocked, in southern U.S. church circles. This activity has been a part of the culture I’ve known most of my life. My father, in his younger years was on this track for sure. I saw it modeled. He also modeled better than any person I’ve ever known, the overcoming of it. Still, I struggle. While I believe I’ll fight this battle until I’m home in heaven, I have seen that, when I am giving myself to the reading of, studying of, and praying through Scripture there is a much greater ability to overcome. My thoughts are these…

    1. When we allow God’s voice to be heard (most often through the Bible) even predispositions are overtaken by the power of the Spirit of God.
    2. When we start our day with God’s voice the other dark voices that speak to us don’t get nearly as much of a hearing.
    3. When we make Scripture the document that drives how we live our lives, no matter how predisposed, addicted to, or culturally given to a certain sin, we are reminded of it’s affect on us and it’s affect on our relationship with one another and God.

    Don’t get me wrong… The struggle will continue every time food is available to me. I can only tell you that I seldom, almost never, have victory over this sinful act when, in my rebellion, I step away from the power of God seen and experienced when we read the Bible.

    • March 11, 2010 10:17 am

      Love this response, Rick. And I appreciate the way you are modeling humility and repentance. You have a very biblical attitude toward this area of your life and that encourages me to remain in the same attitude toward my own weaknesses.

  2. Andrea permalink
    March 11, 2010 4:50 pm

    Thanks for posting these links, Josh.

    Dr. Moore did an EXCELLENT job answering that question. Married and unmarrieds alike should read it because it doesn’t just address the question of sexual immorality, but dealing with any kind of sin in relationship. It’s beautifully done.

    Really liked the idols worksheet too. Thank you. That is actually an answered prayer, I think. Very helpful.

    Planning to look over the love languages thing when I have more time. Interesting!
    Thanks Josh!

  3. homebyfaith permalink
    March 11, 2010 7:06 pm

    I am a believer in the Five Love Languages book. Besides placing Christ at the center of our marriage, the Five Love Languages principles have made the greatest postive impact on our relationship. We studied the book over 12 years ago and we still use the material today in our marriage and with our children.

    The 5LL points us in the direction of selfless love toward our relationships. It is not a “I scratch your back, you scratch mine” philosophy. It is more about really getting to know your spouse/child/friend and pouring your time, energy, words, and actions into truly loving them. Personally, we have discovered that full love tanks combined with trust and forgiveness have strengthened our relationships.

    • josh permalink
      March 11, 2010 7:28 pm

      I’m not totally opposed either, Jennifer, and found Powlison’s (who I usually LOVE) critique almost nit-picky. Jana and I have read it and both process things in its terms in our conversations sometimes. But I did think he had some valid points in the article, especially about it not addressing a need for repentance and its insufficiency as a central informant for how to Biblically love and receive love. While I seriously (with a capital S) doubt that Gary Chapman intended for it to be used in that way, I have seen a lot of people receive it in that way.

      On a personal ministry level, I’ve seen it be very helpful for couples with solid spiritual growth and background and, at times, detrimental in some ways to spiritually younger couples who lack a more full Biblical understanding of love and marriage.

      I wouldn’t characterize this critique as saying that 5LL is bad, but as saying that it’s insufficient without other Biblical concepts to support it.

  4. homebyfaith permalink
    March 11, 2010 7:58 pm

    In all honesty, Josh, I didn’t read the entire critique only the first page or so. I was just speaking from our own personal experience.:-)

Leave a Reply

